Research Fellowship Competition

Research Fellowships are awarded to individuals of exceptionally strong academic record who have produced innovative doctoral research.
The College has two competitions – one for applicants within the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, and one for applicants within the Sciences. 
Four candidates have been recommended for election in October 2023. Next year's application process for both competitions opens on September 1 2023 and closes on September 30 2023.
Applications will be made via the following online site (available during the application period): 
There are 31 colleges within the collegiate University of Cambridge. Each College is an independent institution and appoints its own staff.

Previous winners


Mx François·e Charmaille (English)

Dr Cristian Larroulet Philippi (History and Philosophy of Science) 

Dr Sanne van Neerven (Cancer biology)

Dr Andrew Docker (Chemistry) 


Dr Victoria Baena (English)

Dr Lila O'Leary Chambers (History)

David Hosking (Physics)

Vaithish Velazhahan (Molecular Biology)


Orfeas Chasapis Tassinis (Law)

Dr Stephen Turton (English)

Dr Jan Steinebrunner (Mathematics)

Dr Michele Simoncelli (Physics)


Dr Emily Sandford (Physics)

Dr Christina Faraday (History of Art)

Vedran Sulovsky (History)


Dr Ted Tregear (English)

Dr Francesca De Domenico (Engineering)

Dr Lisa Kattenberg (History)


Dr Rebecca Sugden (Modern and Medieval Languages)

Dr Guy Emerson (Computer Science)

Dr  Lewis Owen (Material Sciences)

Dr Joseph Ashmore (English)


Dr Carl Turner (Mathematics)

Dr Tamsin Blaxter (Linguistics)

Dr Timothy Twining (History)

Dr Tom Arnold-Forster (History)


Dr Ruadhaí Dervan (Mathematics)

Dr Anna Judson (Classics)

Dr Will Handley (Natural Sciences)

Dr Manuel Will (Archaeology)


Dr John Gallagher (History)

Dr Johannes Hofmann (Mathematics)

Dr Giorgia Longobardi (Engineering)

Dr Simon Wolfgang Fuchs (Theology and Religious Studies)