Eight Fellows admitted in Caius Chapel

  • 03 October 2023
  • 2 minutes

Eight academics were elected to the Fellowship of Gonville & Caius College before making their declarations in Chapel on Monday evening.

Four candidates recommended following the annual Research Fellowship competition in January were admitted. Dr Sanne van Neerven (Cancer biology), Dr Cristian Larroulet Philippi (History and Philosophy of Science), Dr François·e Charmaille (English) and Dr Andrew Docker (Chemistry) joined the Fellowship.

Dr Ned Crowley (Human, Social and Political Sciences) joins the Fellowship, while Dr Demetrios Lefas (Engineering PhD 2016) becomes a Fellow after completing his postgraduate degree at Caius.

Professor Richard Nickl (Mathematics) and Dr James Hambleton (Engineering) were also elected.

Dr Thomas Biginagwa (archaeozoologist and historical archaeologist) has joined Caius as a Research Bye-Fellow from the Global South.

Professor Monojit Chatterji (Economics) and Dr Eleanor Drage, who works between literature, gender studies and AI ethics, are Bye-Fellows joining the College.

There have also been departures from the Fellowship. Professor Arif Ahmed (Philosophy) left Caius and the University of Cambridge following his appointment as Director for Freedom of Speech and Academic Freedom at the Office for Students.

Dr Victoria Bateman (Economics), Dr Joseph Ashmore (English), Dr Nick Simcik-Arese (Architecture), Dr Thea Don-Siemion (Economics), Professor Jason Head (Zoology) and Ms Jennifer Phillips (History and Philosophy of Science 1996), the former Domestic Bursar, have left in the recently completed academic year.

The Revd Dr Megan Daffern has left as Acting Dean and Bye-Fellow, with The Revd Dr Cally Hammond returning to Chapel from her 12-month sabbatical.

Professor Aaron Koller has returned to New York following a year as Cook-Crone Bye-Fellow, and Professor Nick Dorey (Mathematics) has also departed.

Pictured (from left to right): Dr Cristian Larroulet Philippi, Dr James Hambleton, Dr Ned Crowley, Dr François·e Charmaille, Dr Sanne van Neerven, Dr Demetrios Lefas, Professor Richard Nickl and Dr Andrew Docker.