Cheryl Frances-Hoad You Promised Me Everything

Catalogue no: CHRCD057  

Price: £13.00 (including postage and packaging)

This CD of vocal and choral works by Caian Chery Frances-Hoad includes music written over nearly a decade, from her first choral work There is no rose, to Beowolf, commissioned by the BBC. Beowolf is a song cycle for mezzo soprano and piano performed by Caian Jennifer Johnston.

"from supple assurance... to very funny... to austerely epic... Frances-Hoad's work shows a keen instinct for text-setting..."

"Mezzo Jennifer Johnston is a superb advocate, the glossy depth of her voice matched by the spirited intelligence of her musicality"

BBC Music Magazine

1-8 One life stand for mezzo soprano and piano
9 There is no rose for a cappella mixed voice choir
10 Don't for soprano, piccolo and bass clarinet
11 Psalm 1 for choir and organ
12 You promised me everything last night for soprano, piano 4 hands and cello
13 Nunc dimittis for a cappella mixed voice choir
14-27 Beowolf for mezzo soprano and piano