Rheinberger: Sacred Choral Music

Shortly before his death, Rheinberger wrote a letter to a pupil in which he outlined his musical philosophy, claiming that many of the more experimental and progressive musical styles of his day were contrary to what he saw as the true spirit of music. Listening to his music we can hear his philosophy in sound, and admire the skill he brought to bear in composing music that if not startingly original or challenging, nevertheless pleases through its honest search for musical beauty: “Music without singability and beauty of sound has no legitimacy. I well know that my view has many opponents, but white is white, not grey and black. Music should never sound despondent or morose. Music is basically an outputting of joy, and even pain knows no pessimism.”

"This is a choir of well–matched young voices, secure in matters of balance and intonation, sensitive in phrasing and nuance. Out of their ranks they produce some admirable soloists."


Mass for 8 voices in E flat major, Op. 109 'Cantus Missae'
1. Kyrie
2. Gloria
3. Credo
4. Sanctus
5. Benedictus
6. Agnus Dei
7. Meditations (12) for organ, Op. 167: No 3, Canzonetta
8. Hymns (5), for chorus & organ, Op. 140: No 4, Ave Regina Caelorum
9. Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen (Psalm 84), Op. 35
10. Ich liebe, weil erhöret der Herr, Op. 40/1
11. Ave Maris Stella, for soprano, alto & organ, Op. 171
12. Meditations (12) for organ, Op. 167/7, Intermezzo
Motets (4), Op. 133
13. No 1, Anima Nostra
14. No 2, Meditabor
15. No 3, Laudate Dominum
Requiem in D minor, Op. 194
16. Requiem
17. Graduale
18. Offertorium
19. Hostias
20. Sanctus
21. Benedictus
22. Agnus Dei