Skip to main content

Subject Taster Evenings

Students in a supervisionEach summer term we run a programme of virtual Subject Taster Evenings for year 12 (or equivalent) students at a UK state (non-fee-charging) school or college. They feature the chance to meet our Directors of Studies, hear from our students, and experience a taste of Cambridge-style teaching. 

2022 dates

We have tried as far as possible to place subjects on the same day only where they are unrelated; we encourage prospective applicants interested in multiple subjects to sign up for multiple evenings, to help inform their eventual subject choice.

Monday 25th April Biological Natural Sciences Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
Tuesday 26th April History Philosophy
Wednesday 27th April Medicine and Veterinary Medicine Anglo Saxon, Norse and Celtic
Thursday 28th April Law  
Friday 29th April Psychological and Behavioural Sciences Economics
Monday 2nd May Theology, Religion and Philosophy of Religion Computer Science
Tuesday 3rd May Classics Chemical Engineering
Wednesday 4th May Education History of Art
Thursday 5th May Human, Social and Political Sciences  
Friday 6th May Music Physical Natural Sciences
Monday 9th May Mathematics Land Economy
Tuesday 10th May Modern and Medieval Languages Archaeology
Wednesday 11th May Geography Architecture
Thursday 12th May Engineering English

Please note: each subject listed in a cell has its own Taster Evening - i.e. on Monday 25th April there will be two separate Taster Evenings, one for Biological Natural Sciences, and one for Asian and Middle Eastern Studies. Unfortunately it is not possible to attend two Taster Evenings on the same day.

Details

Each Subject Taster Evening will run from 5 to 7pm, and will involve:

  • A talk from a Director of Studies/Fellow in the subject about the course at Cambridge and Caius, and the chance to ask questions;
  • A taster lecture or interactive session from a Cambridge academic;
  • A question-and-answer session with current students in the subject.

Sign up

If you would like to attend one or more of the evenings, sign up using this form. The deadline for signing up is 1st April.